Venmo is commonly used for money transactions on famous sites like eBay or transfers to other apps like Cash App. It functions like a social media network. This is because all of your transaction history is shared with others. Users tend to avoid this through various means. Therefore, it becomes essential to know: Can you delete your Venmo history so no one else can see it?
Can You Delete Venmo History?
All those added to your friends list on Venmo can see your account details. Venmo history deletion is not an option that people are looking for. Worry not; as we have tackled the problems of fixing Venmo’s lost connection with the bank, we will also present you with some ways to keep your account information safe.
Since you can’t delete Venmo history, there should be a workaround.
You can change the app’s Settings to make transaction history more private. However, it is not possible to delete the transfer history altogether.
Venmo is used to transfer money to another account holder and to share your amount with other type types of accounts.
All your details and history are kept private. However, the recipient can see the data once the payment reaches him.
If you are concerned about your transaction history and the leakage of the information to someone else, there are a few steps you can take.
You Can Close Your Venmo Account
There is an alternative to deleting Venmo history. You can choose the option to close the account. But always remember that once you close your account, it will not be recovered in the future. Therefore, we suggest you withdraw all funds beforehand.
When you completely delete your Venmo account, they will inform you through email. All the information about your account, which you have deleted, is included in the email. Venmo also tells you it will not be recovered, but you must keep this email in your draft for future use.
Below is a short guide on how to delete a Venmo account:
- Open your Venmo app and go to the Me tab.
- Then tap on Settings gear and select Account under Preferences.
- Choose to Close your Venmo Account from the options provided.
- Confirm the decision.
You Can Change Venmo History Settings To Private
In Venmo Public feed, there is an option through which your data and transaction history are shared with others. So, if you want to make the transactions private, instead of deleting your account, go to the public feed option to hide your previous transactions.
How To Delete Venmo Transaction?
In Venmo, there is no option to delete your transaction history because they always keep it on record. So, there is an alternative method where you can hide your transfer data from all those who have accessed your account.
How to hide transactions on Venmo? Here’s how it works!
- Correctly open your Venmo account using your email address and password.
- Then click on the Hamburger icon tab at the top left corner of the screen.
- You will see all the required steps and settings to make your transaction private.
- Then, the next step is to visit the Settings page.
- Search for the default privacy settings option. From here, you must choose the privacy option to make your transactions private.
- When you select this option of privacy, you will also be able to see the option of Past Transactions, and you can choose to make those private.
- Now choose the option of “Change All To Private,” so your transactions will be deleted from the record of others, and in the future, they will be private and accessible by you only.
- Then again, visit the “Privacy” tab to select the change anyway option. Once you have chosen this option, your history will be automatically moved from public to private. Moreover, the procedure will be confirmed through email.
How Long Does Venmo Keep Transaction History?
Venmo may store your transaction history for upto10 years. In fact, the authorities have shared that the app stores information past account deletion as well.
Can You Delete Venmo Comments?
Yes, you can delete Venmo comment or the titles of the transactions that you have sent out.
Can You Edit Venmo Comments?
It is not possible to edit Venmo comments. However, you can choose to delete them if you want.
Before You Go!
Although Venmo does not offer international services, it is widely used due to its quick local transfers to bank accounts and apps like PayPal. However, the drawback is that its customer’s transaction history is mainly shared with those in the friend list. All these people can check the previous history of money transfers, which is sometimes quite annoying.
That is why the option of making history private is quite helpful. With this feature, your history is shared with you only, and none of the users has access to it. Users can not permanently delete their Venmo transfer history and account but can keep them private.
Miriam Caldwell is a dedicated & expert freelance writer to educate people about personal finance management and budgeting. She shared her knowledge and published the articles at TheBalance.com, GOBankingRates, and BlissfullyDomestic.com. Many financial institutes pick Caldwell as the brilliant source for educational personal finance content.